Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

While many advocate that academic abilities should determine whether a student is selected for a school or not, others maintain that an assortment of students with different skills is more beneficial. Although both perspectives hold merits, I resonate more with the former due to some reasons that will be elaborated upon below.

On the one hand, I favor classrooms wherein classmates share similar academic capabilities. Such learning environments can facilitate teachers’ identification of learning needs, helping them to adjust their lessons to better address individual demands, thereby not only yielding positive academic outcomes but also helping students achieve their full potential. This bears a sharp contrast to classrooms involving mixed abilities, where it can be challenging for teachers to target, much less tailor the lessons to meet students’ divergent requirements. Additionally, a homogenous classroom may also foster personal development. Being surrounded by peers in the same league would equip students with an ability to harness the fear of being left behind as an inner drive for them to strive for self-improvement.

On the other hand, it is justifiable why others align with the idea of mixed-ability classes. According to them, not only can such a scholastic model be equitable, as students, regardless of their capabilities, can access the same resources, but it may also be especially beneficial for the underachievers, since peer support and role models may intrinsically empower them to make progress. Nevertheless, I believe that this model may only serve to amplify education inequality. In today’s merit-based education system, high achievers often stand out and become favored by teachers, leading to preferential treatment at the expense of their less successful classmates. As a result, students who are less academically inclined may never escape the vicious cycle of low grades and eventually lose their motivation to study, as opposed to their more successful peers who are constantly incentivized, thus widening the insurmountable achievement gap in education.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should be selected based on what they are able to achieve academically, as this can enhance students’ performance and foster self-motivation. In contrast, mixed-ability classes may aggravate education unfairness due to discrimination.