Some people think that schools should use teaching methods that encourage students to cooperate. Other people think that schools should use teaching methods that encourage students to compete. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The topic of competition and cooperation is widely discussed everywhere nowadays. Hardly a day goes by without this issue being raised in many people’s lives, academic, political, social circles, as well as mass media. Some people think that students should be taught how to work as a team, others disagree with them and believe that they should learn how to be competitive. Both these opinions may be right, and there are some reasons for that.

As for cooperation, it is obvious that the skill of being a team player is crucial at any time, since we are always integrated into society. As an example, during interviews employers always consider the applicant’s ability to communicate easily and work with other people effectively. No matter whether we are primary school pupils, students, or employees, there will be a demand to be able to work together. Furthermore, productive cooperation always leads to success if members of the team take all their responsibilities seriously and make a lot of contributions to the work.

On the other hand, being a great competitor is also a significant part of your personal success. Our whole life is full of competition, and it is impossible to avoid it. The sense of competition, that is usually developed at an early stage at school by grading students, is beneficial for achieving goals that you have set. For example, without being competitive, a person would not be able to get advantageous and simple things, such as money, career, family.

Summarising everything mentioned above I can come to the conclusion that I strongly believe both skills, such as cooperation and competition, are extremely valuable and important for any person, that’s why I suppose that it would be helpful for children to obtain the skills while they are still students.