Some people think that social media has brought people closer together, while others believe it has created more distance between individuals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about social media. While some people believe that social media has led to more convenient communication, others argue that it has decreased the quality of face-to-face relationships. Personally, I believe that online communication has its benefits, but face-to-face communication is more beneficial for citizens.

The position of the former group can be reasoned with the following argument. From their perspective, people are able to communicate whenever they want. Nowadays, it is easier to make friends with people than in the past, as individuals are able to find friends from any country with social media. Through these platforms, not only are users able to learn other countries’ languages, but they can also know their traditional customs. Furthermore, at present, it is not difficult to connect with your friends because of online platforms. Individuals can ask anything if it is necessary. It makes individuals’ relationships with friends and neighbors stronger.

The members of the latter group, however, have their own reason to justify their position. According to them, social media often encourages individuals to present a virtual version of themselves rather than their real personality. For example, there are types of citizens who cannot communicate face-to-face. However, they often act differently on online platforms, changing the way they communicate compared to real life. As a result, building an enhanced relationship may be challenging for those who avoid reality. This is because they cannot show their feelings to others, and even they are shy to ask for help or something from citizens. Consequently, making friendship can also be challenging for those types of individuals.

From my perspective, both forms of communication are beneficial for citizens. Online relationships allow them to stay connected to one another, face-to-face communications allow them to be close with one another.

In conclusion, although people’s positions over online or face-to-face communication vary, I am convinced that the best way to stay connected is online communication, while real life communication helps to be close with one another.