Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and ages, it is true that the question of whether social skills are equally important to academic to academic qualifications still remains as a debatable topic. From my personal perspective, I hold a strong belief that interpersonal competence often determines a successful salaryman, and intellectual prowess alone may not guarantee strong performance at workplace.

Proponents of academic qualifications often highlight the potential benefits associated with this aspect for several reasons. Chief among these is that professional qualifications can be served as a valid proof for employers to assess their candidate. This is particularly pertinent to those employers who have less recruiting experience, as they can use degrees as an indication that an employee can finish what they start. Another worth mentioning point is that a degree from a top-ranked college or university can show employees’ level f commitment. This is because one cannot obtain half a degree, but either finish it or not. Henceforth, such dedication is utterly important in workplace setting, allowing employers to keep their staffs as long as possible. However, the solely reliance on academic credits may limit the generalizability of this argument, as interpersonal abilities can offer various opportunities to all potential employees.

From my personal point of view, social skills should be considered as important as qualifications in most professional setting. Perhaps the most obvious point is that modern work environment heavily depends on collaboration, communication, and emotional intelligence. Indeed, it is the fact that employees who excel at building relationship, negotiating or resolving office conflicts often outperform those with strong academic background but lack interpersonal competence and life skills. For example, a project manager who can coordinate effectively with his fellow colleagues and clients tend to ensure a smoother business operation than one relying solely on technical expertise. This approach indeed boost company’s overall revenue since this approach does attract a great number of clients who want to work with the company. Another prime illustration that should be considered is Apple, a tech giant from the United States, was reported to be in favour of recruiting candidates based not only on their academic background but also on their communication and problem-solving skills. The reason is that these client-oriented industries often emphasise the role of social competence, as they believe that such abilities can drive productivity, customer satisfaction and innovation, most of which are not easily attained by only utilizing intellectual prowess of employees.

In conclusion, while the potential merits of academic qualifications are undeniable. Nevertheless, I still reaffirm my conviction that social skills are equally, if not more, important than strong academic background in most professional setting.