Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes asserted that social ability is as important as educational background. I largely agree with this statement as I believe that it can bring benefits to people.

First and foremost, people with social skills can bring economic benefits. To be more specific, academic diploma is basic and when people enter their corporation, the capability to socialize with others is necessary besides fundamental hard skills. The reason is that most of the work is required to cooperate with the teammates so if people can get along well with them, they can foster more efficient collaboration, which in turn contributes to getting higher performance. Meanwhile, the chance for promotion and salary increase is on the rise. On the other hand, if people are merely proficient in study or expertise and they don’t know how to socialize with other, they may be excluded by their colleagues possibly or cause some bad results.

In addition, acquiring some social techniques may enhance efficiency regardless of your work or daily life. Although people can arouse other’s attention through their own talents or excellent certificates, it is obvious that it is easier for those who are also good at socializing to make friends with some outstanding people. For instance, if you can meet prominent people in some special occasions like banquets or forums, this kind of networking resources can benefit their work or life especially in a relationship-based society. Sometimes the goal of socializing is not only making friends with others, but also getting resources from influential elites. Therefore, those with high emotional intelligence and IQ can achieve success more easily.

Admittedly, academic qualifications are fundamental, which can provide us critical thinking and necessary knowledge required in work especially in technical field. If people simply have networking skills, it is difficult for them to have an access to cutting-edge industry. However, it has to be said that current society is inclined to people who excel both academically and socially because they can deal with difficult problems and earn more profits. Similarly, people are more willing to get on with such people, which can make their relationship more comfortable.

In conclusion, as far as economy benefits and efficiency are concerned, I maintain that individuals owning interpersonal skills and academic grades can live more better.