Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a debate on whether social skills play a crucial role as academic qualifications in one’s success. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the idea that both factors are of an equal importance.

On the one hand, it is essential to have academic qualification which is the evidence of the possession of one’s knowledge and experience. To be more specific, those certificates cannot be obtained without many years of diligent study and continuous practice. For example, in order to achieve a qualification from a prestigious university, one needs to study hard to pass the university entrance examination, then spend four more years working on a variety of knowledge relating to their majors. In addition, having a diploma in a particular field offers people greater responsibility and higher pay when it comes to seeking employment. Indeed, many big firms usually recruit employees by arranging several selection rounds such as preliminary selection where the applicant’s academic certificate is always the first thing they look at.

On the other hand, people have become increasingly aware of the importance of social skills. Indeed, life skills are definitely an influential factor for students to be enrolled in well-regarded undergraduate school. It can be recognized through many extra-curricular activities students took part in, which make their applications more competitive. Moreover, in terms of work, a person with sophisticated social skills also finds it easier to have a good relationship with their colleagues, and be conscious enough to avoid the misunderstandings in the workplace. As a result, people are given more sense of satisfaction out of their jobs instead of suffering from extra stress in their work.

In conclusion, academic qualifications and social skills both play a vital role in helping people succeed.