some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that whether the best way for roads safety improvement is imposing harsh penalties or there are more reasonable options. Although stricter punishments can act as a deterrent, I believe they are not the only way we have.

On the one hand, it might be understandable why some people advocate of more difficult punishments. If careless drivers know that each driving faults, regardless of how serious or petty they are, have a more significant consequence, they are less likely to commit them. For instance, the penalty for over-speading can change from financial punishments to suspending driving license for a long time. As a result, even wealthy drivers cannot neglect the laws and the defined punishment is equal for all individuals.

However, there are other beneficial methods for inhancing roads safety. One of which is increasing the number of police officers in the roads, especially those main roads which contain more vehicles and passengers. With the help of the police patrols, drivers become more careful about their risky behaviors, and this leads to prevent accidents or other offences. Another possible way is to reconstruct old roads and rising the number of road signs and lights. It is undeniable that many accidents happen due to the inappropriate status of roads. Thus, these two options can be just like a prevention method rather than treatment.

In conclusion, while hursh penalties can help declining the quantities of driving offences, adding other solutions such as increasing the presence of the police and rebuilding some roads help decrease the number of these crimes and save more people’s lives.