Some people believe that artificial intelligence (AI) will replace many human jobs in the future, while others think that it will create more job opportunities.

There is a debate over the effect Artificial Intelligence will have on the job market, with some thinking that this development will lead to automation, and others believing that it will be successfully adapted, leading to augmentation. In my opinion, AI cannot fully replace all professions in the foreseeable future, although it can automate the work process, allowing technology and people to work together in the most effective way possible.

With the proliferation of AI apps, the potential threat people saw in this innovation was work-related issues. Employees are now afraid of automation – the process where workers are fully replaced by technology. But what many do not understand is that the complete integration of technology into the workplace can lead to increased “workslop”, where the quality and effort of work generated by AI will be poor due to many reasons.

Among these reasons is the fact that AI is simply not advanced enough to replace human labour. The most compelling example here is communication skills. The sudden absence of the human factor will scare many customers, resulting in an increased churn. This fear of the “unknown” and the inefficient use of AI mostly affect the profitable side of businesses and, in the long term, will naturally lead to the attrition.

However, if deployed effectively, CEOs can use AI to their advantage. Augmentation seems to be the most reasonable solution in this increasingly popular topic of discussion nowadays. Employers can implement technological advancements into workplaces to make the collaboration between AI and human beings balanced. One example can be paying more attention to a well-being lever – factor that can be adjusted to improve people’s quality of life. While workers are provided with a better work-life balance or physical health support, taking care of their physical and mental state, part of the work can be delegated to technology. Therefore, both working as efficiently as possible will contribute to business prosperity.

In conclusion, fully automated jobs will trigger both employees and customers, giving rise to layoffs, the balanced approach, on the other hand, will push companies to achieve the best results without causing harm to any parties involved.