Some people think that students in high school should not waste their time studying literature, such as poems and novels.

I think studying literature such as poems and novels are not wasting time for high school students. I have 3 reasons why I do not agree with that opinion. First, studying literature is a must and very needed for our generation, especially generations who born in technology era when people can get every informations around the world. I have heard so much news and articles about how low literacy skills students have and it is very concerning for our generation. If they hear about informations from people and just take it without looking out for the validations through literacy, it could be a problem for them. At this point, we need to increase their literacy skills through reading. It could be reading novels, poems, comics, or reading something they like. With reading and focusing on something that they read, their literacy skills and concentration can be increased. They will not getting lazy and bored anymore if they need to do literacy.

Second, literature is not something that waste students time, but it is something that keep them alive. When they got in high school, so many things students need to prepare because high school is a “bridge” to walk in a new life stage, which are college and work. High school students start preparing and planning everything they need to achieve their dream. They study so hard so they can get into their university and pursue a career. But somehow, it is exhausting and draining for them. With so many burdens and expectations, it could affect on their physical and mental. Of course they need something enjoyable to keep their minds positive, and arts is the most students enjoyed to.

Third, high school students can make their literature skills into a job such as writer, copywriting, artist, composer, and so many more. So, literature can open so many potentials on high school students.