Some people think that students in high school should not waste their time studying literature, such as poems and novels.

It is sometimes argued that highschool students should not invest their time learning literature. I completely disagree with this point of view, and will give my reasons below.

One of the main reasons why students should focus on literature is that it fosters emotional development and empathy. In other words, when someone starts reading a book, they start getting involve into the storyline, begin to connect with the characters, and started to understand these characters feelings. If a book is about domestic violence, they develops sympathy towards the female character. Thus, this whole process helps them to express their emotions better. This will also helps them to connect with the people who are around them. Take, for example, many psychologists have said that those who read have high emotional quotient than those who do not. It helps students to become emotionally mature.

Furthermore, focusing on this subject in the school time helps students to build a career in this. Many students have potential to become writers, editors or publisher,and by reading novels and poems may help them to unlock their hidden talents or abilities to write or to see the world in different ways. It brings their creative and imaginative side out, and this may help them to decide their career at an early age. For instance, in India, there are many poets and writers who have said in interviews that they used to read books in school’s library and wrote their first poem or short story when they were in the school.

In conclusion, I do not believe that studying literature is a waste of time for highschool students.