Some people think that students in high school should study music as a compulsory school subject. Others believe that such a requirement would be a waste of valuable school study time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A number of people believe that teaching music lessons to students need to be obligatory in high schools. However, some individuals think that such kinds of subjects are wasting worthwhile education period. In my opinion, the first approach has more positive sides.

Initially, music has great benefits such as reducing stress and development of focusing ability that are essential in educational area. Taking this art branch as a compulsory subject in high schools may give children breaking time and help them to improve general knowledge about music. At the same time, music becomes a inseparable part of people’s lives so while children is learning the its depth and different aspects, they can mind their personal decisions about future life. Music lessons have influence on children’s listening taste that directs their current emotions even lifestyle. For instance, in 2008 Harvard University held a research between 4 volunteer high schools. Two of them added music lessons on their daily course schedule, others completely canceled teaching it. According to results, the students of primary lyceums improved their self-control, and demonstrated better participation at even other schools subjects, because of changing listening styles due to music knowledge came from music subjects.

On the one hand, some groups of people believe that music classes are not as important as other courses. They believe that students do not take this subject seriously and that it is a waste of time. Students could concentrate their time on lessons that will be very significant for their future school days instead of taking this type of art course. For example, technical classes like math and physics can take the place of music lessons, allowing students to grasp the breadth of knowledge in these subjects and having a good effect on their future university careers.

In conclusion, music subjects can be productive for individual choices, however it should be replaced more essential subjects for future career.