Some people think that students should learn academic subjects like science and mathematics at school. Others believe that students should also learn practical skills such as cooking and carpentry. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a common debate whether learning practical skills that can be used in daily routine is more crucial compared to academic knowledge students acquire from school. While the theoretical knowledge obtained from the school curriculum may prove useful in narrow scientific applications, general practical skills remain relevant for their wide variety of usage.

On one hand, in-depth theoretical observations obtained from the school’s curriculum may aid students researching field-specific problems in advancing their understanding of the situation. Students can study subjects of their own liking to find the specific information they would need in future to solve a certain problem. For example, a chemistry student might need information acquired from school’s curriculum to solve a chemical equation in their scientific work. Hence, knowledge obtained from the school curricula is important when dealing with field-specific cases further in a student’s career.

On the other hand, general skills used on a regular basis are essential in maintaining any independent individual’s lifestyle and development. Specifically, real-world application skills, such as cooking and budget management, provide for a person’s basic needs or supplementary demands, similar to nutritional value or personal belongings. For instance, cleaning is a frequently used skill that solves a basic problem of household hygiene, and due to its widespreadness it is a skill that every individual should learn. Therefore, these commonly deployed skills are important due to how often the problems they solve are encountered.

In conclusion, factual knowledge obtained from school subjects’ programs is crucial because of its field-specific application, while practical skills remain paramount in any independent individual’s daily routine. In my opinion, due to regularity of practical skills’ application, it can be considered more important and fundamental in a person’s life.