Some people think that students should learn practical skills at school, such as cooking or managing money. Others believe that academic subjects should be the main focus. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether schools should provide lessons of utilitarian skills, such as cooking or car repair has long been a topic of debate, with some believing that students can learn it at schools, while critics argue that academic subjects are more necessary and students should concentrate on them. I firmly support the latter position, which holds more merit, thereby playing a distinct role in students´ intellectual development.

On the one hand, if schools teach practical skills, which students can apply in a real life, it will be undeniably positive for parents. Particularly, most skills people gain from their parents, who are often drained after a workday, but they also need to help their children and nurture them, hence, it would be easier if schools cover this gap. For example, if students were taught some applied skills in schools, they could help their families with some chores and troubles at home, that can be a big contribution in a family relationships. Families, which are free from the need to teach their children how to cook or repair something at home, they can find some time to rest or for entertainment staff. Therefore, schools’ curriculum should include some courses of practical skills, in order to alleviate parents´ schedule.

On the other hand, I would argue that academic studying should be in a priority, because school is a place, where students have to become more educated, whereas special institutions or parents should be in charge of children’s utilitarian abilities. Firstly, if schools insist lessons of practical skills, many students won’t have enough time to spend on academic subjects because teaching of cooking or repairing cars take so much time and practice, that it will impact negatively on other studies. Secondly, academic knowledge is more crucial in terms of education, due to the fact that mathematics or physics are important subjects for a proper perception of how this world is working. For instance, when somebody graduated a school, this person should pass some exams and apply to universities, however, people who do not know sufficient educational basis, they cannot do it. Relatively, practical skills cannot help with future career or entering to universities. It is mostly applicable at home, hence, it should be educated at home as well.

To conclude, some individuals argue that applied skills need to be included in schools´programs, while others and I strongly believe that it is beneficial to focus on academic disciplines because they play more crucial role in a future career and educational plans and an academic foundation, which school gives is valuable for correct preception of the world.