some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today's life. Others argue that the history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ on whether doing research on historical figures and events aids people a lot about contemporary times or not. From my personal standpoint, there would be a lot of valuable lessons to gain from learning history

On the one hand, opponents of learning from the past often point to two main arguments. In the first place, some individuals believe that historical events happened for a long time, so they are irrelevant to our modern lives. It is pointless when having a large understanding of historical knowledge but can not utilize it to support our lives. Instead, the general public is encouraged to focus on fostering science and technology to catch up with today’s world’s tendencies. In the second place, there is no guarantee of the accuracy of historical information obtained because as times go by, each historical event is spread and interpreted differently by different ordinary people based on their own perspectives, even in some cases, historical documents are also fake. Eventually, it is undeniable that inhabitants may have conflicting opinions or misunderstand history, which can lead to cultural and religious clashes between different regions and nations

On the other hand, I believe history plays a pivotal role for every country and its citizens. Indeed, through history, we can learn about the formation and evolution of humankind. We will gain a deeper insight into how human beings developed our languages to our bodies so as to adapt to environmental changes or how societies, systems, cultures, and technologies have been built and operated until now. The rich history of the world helps us to paint a detailed picture of where we stand today. Additionally, getting a deeper understanding of the history of our own country helps develop the patriotism and gratitude we feel towards our previous generations. For example, by studying their country’s history, Vietnamese people can see that their ancestors sacrificed a lot in the war defeating the Mongolian Army which was the strongest military in the world at that time to get independence and freedom for the nation. Thanks to this, we need to appreciate and be grateful for their enormous contributions

In conclusion, acquiring knowledge about history may be unnecessary for some individuals due to inapplicability in the modern era and the inaccuracy of some historical information, but it seems to bring great value to me, allowing me to understand the change of the world as well as promote the patriotism in my heart