some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today's life. Others argue that the history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an opinion that learning from history is unnecessary since it educates us nothing about current life, whereas some others say that history equips us with crucial knowledge. From my perspective, I am of the latter school of thought.

Admittedly, one might argue that the knowledge acquired from the past is not useful in the modern era. This is predicated on the assumption that the problems we have today barely correlate with those we did encounter in the past. To elaborate, hundreds of years ago, our ancestors’ wars were different from those in the contemporary era since in the past warfares revolved around physical combat or territorial disputes, whereas the currency wars are the fights against climate change which needs global cooperation or long-term strategies. Moreover, the common science terms from the past are no longer accepted, say, the Earth was the center of the universe and has now disproven thanks to the advancement of technology. Consequently, studying history bears little correlation to our current life.

However, this line of reasoning is not sensible for the importance of historical knowledge. Initially, the very pieces of historical facts may seem useless,however, allowing mankind to draw invaluable lessons for our present-day world. A case in point is the study of root causes of wars reveals the past civilizations invaded one another as they believed that only at the expense of others could they thrive. Such a policy is by no means true since this can be seen clearly in the fact that wars are rare in the modern era as armed conflicts cause huge economic losses and require expensive weapons, which are compounded with fewer economic activities

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that although history barely relates to today’s life, it still provides us with priceless experience.