Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it has become possible to achieve road safety through increasing the legal driving age. From my perspective, I believe that raising the age threshold for driving indeed can contribute to road safety, while I would argue that solely focusing on the restriction of driving is adequate to realize road safety.

To commence, there is no doubt that a higher age threshold will yield several benefits. Ranging from preventing those people who are not familiar with driving, particularly students to driving laymen from causing drastic traffic incidents, which can contribute to the road safety. Besides, setting age restriction will enable those who are below the age threshold to learn skills of driving, like decision-making and the calmness to encounter with any emergency while driving on road before they take the great responsibility to drive.

However, the positive impact exerted by setting a higher and stricter age threshold is extremely limited, which lies in the fact that there will be a decreased number of youngsters and unproficient drivers driving on road, but an unchanged number of traffic accidents provoked by those drivers bump into citizens walking on road deliberately. Therefore, for the exact purpose of realizing road safety, efforts from comprehensive aspects are of crucial necessity, this should include academic, policy, and both paper and practical driving tests with rigid procedures, which will be able to ensure whether a driver is qualified with driving.

In conclusion, I would argue that only taking the age as a factor into consideration is sufficient to make the blessing of road safety be materialized.