Some people think that the education system should only focus on preparing students for employment, while others believe it has other important functions. Discuss both sides and then give your own opinion.

The purpose of education has been controversial topic nowadays. Many people consider that education should just play a role of training students for their future employment, whereas others are convinced that it should have additional purposes. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument, and then I will give my own perspective.

There are merits that school focus on vocational training. Students will be equipped with solid skills in their professions, and can immediately put their expertise to use at work. As well as this, it will effectively increase the possibility of

employment when they graduate. In addition, owing to the fact that most companies today prefer to employ those who can apply their professional skills to work after a short term of training. Therefore, this may enormously diminish unemployment rate in society, and benefit both students and employers.

However, schools also provide other significant functions. By and large, the abilities of communication and problem-solving are indispensable to students as well. Teamwork, considered to be primary at workplace today, requires both as prerequisites. Therefore, schools can help students build up the abilities of working with a diversity of groups and that of solving problems independently, which will make students more rounded in many respects.

In conclusion, both sides of argument have their merits. On balance, however, schools seem to have more functions as education itself is multidisciplinary, which not only provides professional skills but also teach students how to be a team player and to encounter and resolve problems. In my view, it will help students be more rounded and resourceful in their future careers.