some people think that the goverment is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spend elsewhere.

A fair amount of people believe that the governments money is being wasted on arts rather than being spent on a worth it place. I firmly contend that this is partially true to attract more tourists and become known for art museums.

It is evident that some governments depend on tourism financially. But there should be limits to the money being spent to achieve that kind of validation from westerners. Purchasing expensive, prominent art guarantees more visitors. However, taking care of the welfare of its citizens should be the number one priority. Such as South Korea, a well developed, democratic country that not only cares about westerners, but also its citizens.

Unfortunately, some presidents do not care enough about their country. And willingly spend an excessive amount of cash to show off, meanwhile in reality the money should be spent on its nation. For example, Syrias president that was the wealthiest man there, that did not try to develop his homeland nor help the poor people, he only neglected his people which led to poor conditions and poverty everywhere in the country.

In my opinion, governments money shouldn’t be only spent on prestigious art and tourist attractions, but also on enhancing and securing their country and people.