Some people think that the government should focus on improving the public transportation system, while others believe that it should prioritize road infrastructure for private vehicles. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true to say that there is a debate upon whether the government should spend the budget on making public transportation better or improving road quality. This essay will provide discussion on the two sides and further summarize with author’s personal opinion.

For those who support public transportation improvement, there are some advantages needed to be pointed out. First, majority of people use public transport. Using private car comes with high cost and not everybody can afford it. Making the system better will help provide more chances and ease for people to travel. Second, using public transport can help decrease negative impacts on environment and lessen air pollution. The clearest example can be seen in China, which used to rank in the world’s top three according to bad air quality. After the changes were made by enhancing the quality and accessibility of its public transportation and by encouraging people to use electric vehicles, China nowadays can be said to have solved air pollution problem thoroughly. If people give up on using private cars and use public transport instead, it will tremendously have positive impact on pollution problem, Third, public transportation does include bus, train, monorail, and electrical train. People can have broader choices in other than traveling and shipping by private car. In my view, spending national budget on improving public transport system can benefit major part of society.

Looking from the view of those who want to improve infrastructure, especially road, there can be some good sakes. Firstly, road is not used only for private travelling only but also for logistic purposes. If road in the country has better quality, it will help transport both people and products more conveniently. Secondly, increased number of roads nationwide will bring about other infrastructures such as electricity and expand residential area for people. It is undeniable that living with an access to fundamental support is preferable. Availability of road in rural area makes construction of residential places and building along with public utility easier.

In my opinion, as stated above, making public transportation the first priority seems to be proper. Most developed countries provide such system. Not only people and businesses would benefit from it but also a quality of environment could get improved.

To summarize, both budgeting on improving public transport and building road as an infrastructure have their own benefits. Under the situation with limited expense, using money on the former is more suitable in my opinion.