Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on (có ảnh hưởng tiêu cực) young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some controversies among people who argue that the young people’s writing and reading talents are negatively affected by significant use of computers and phones when communicating. This essay will discuss why people think this way and why this statement is not true.

These days, young people may look less communicative or show a lack in reading and writing skills. This is due to the differences that communicating with technology has brought to our lives, and it is inevitable to neglect them. Finally, anyone who uses technological appliances such as computers and smart phones will be influenced by this type of communication. While the young generation starts to get in contact with each other, they use some new slangs or abbreviations of words; such as WYD, which is an abbreviation of what are you doing, and some people consider this a lack of writing skills. This might be true; many young people do not have enough information about grammatical, vocabulary, and sentence structures of their languages, but the one to blame is not their phones, but themselves.

On the other hand, we should consider the amount of knowledge and information that is accessible through the internet and cutting-edge computers. People can easily access any type of information and news about any subject they desire, in all languages. This improvement has noticeably affected people’s knowledge, and they have become more informed and aware of various subjects. This written information can considerably develop their reading and writing skills. For instance, when youngsters search for a topic like biology on the internet, they face a huge number of articles and news written by experts, which have no writing mistakes; consequently, their skills will improve.

In conclusion, this essay argued that some people are wrong and have to consider the positive points of technology too. I completely disagree with them and think that technology has brought countless benefits to our lives.