Some people think that the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Health plays a crucial role in every person’s life, and medical facilities are vital to save it from diseases; with proper treatment. Some individuals believe that degrees and proper knowledge is the most important for nurses whereas others argue that they should have specific qualities like kindness and appropriate communication are more important. This essay will discuss both views; however, I side with the later statement.

On the one side, having good medical knowledge is significantly important for the nurses as they are working with the doctors and also treat the patients, who are suffering from many diseases. So, proper knowledge in the medical field would definitely improve their health. For instance, a patient suffering from allergic reaction when reach to the hospital then nurses give proper medication through which they get relief from pain. Thus, it is only possible if they have proficient medical knowledge.

On the other hand, the opponents argue that the basic skills such as humbleness and sympathetic behaviour make patient more comfortable and relaxed because most of the time hospital staff spend with them so, if they are polite with them then it becomes more efficient to discuss about diet, medication and precautions. Ultimately, hospitalized person feels safer in that environment.

Additionally, if a nurse has great patience, team bond and co-operation then the health centres ambience will secure and safe. Most of the time, staff members follow instruction of doctor and help the co-workers, and proficiently communicate in discussions. It is only possible with a good patience level and cooperation; these kinds of qualities are from inside and do not require any certification or study. Thus, these skills are essential to make stronger team bond and peaceful working area.

In conclusion, while professional staff with adequate degrees is the fundamental to perform jobs however, personal qualities like polite behaviour, team spirit, and co-ordination are the assets not only for patients but colleagues too.