Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People believe that teaching children about right and wrong should be done by correct discipline whereas other state the role of the parents is to care for their children and ensure safe environment for them to grow. While I believe discipline should be enforced in certain coercive or ethical issues, for emotional and psychological development of children, nurturing should be done by the parents in safe environment.

On one hand, teaching a child with proper discipline is essential where making right and wrong decisions are needed by them to survive in the society. Certain aspects of society like respect, moral code of conduct, time value and table manners are some of the disciplines that a child should learn through corrective parenting. Such habits should be enforced through by awarding or punishment. For instance, if a child is following proper dining habit, he or she should be awarded with proper gifts but if he or she is not responding correctly to the manners he or she should be punished with certain removal of his daily patterns. But I believe such practice should be handled carefully otherwise it will impact the child’s emotional component and may result in regressive behaviour.

On the other hand, safe environment is necessary for children where the parents have to create. Parents need to create such environment are for the development of children psychological and emotional needs of love and well-being. It can be achieved through creating a free space of expression and providing mutual connection support where the child can express themselves with their open mind. For instance, creating a room of his own where no on enters, where the child is free to perform any activity. With such environment, I believe a child’s development is possible in every aspect of his development process from their childhood to adolescent.

In conclusion, disciplining should be performed by parents to their children to correct their behaviours and nurturing should be done to enhance their development of lifestyle. I believe that parents should take certain coercive actions are required to enforce among the child to make them believe about right and wrong whereas for creating a nurturing environment is necessary for a child’s wholesome development.