Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People assume different attitudes towards at which stage we are happier. While I accept that adult life brings us wonderful moments, I tend towards the viewpoint that childhood is the most unforgettable and happiest time in our lives.

It is understandable that some claim adult life will be more colorful, as they believe they have more freedom to do what they could not do as teenagers. To be sure, being an adult means that one has more space and independence, which will not be interfered by parents. Besides, adults are largely financially independent as they earn money, which add another layer of freedom. For example, many adults swoon at splurging on either extreme sports or field adventures, through which they gain the excitement and feel the thrill. By contrast, teenagers are definitely prohibited from taking part in these activities. By the same token, children are barred from drinking alcohol in most countries, while adults could go to pubs and drink elatedly with friends.

On the other hand, some believe that teenage life gives us more happiness and I could not agree with this idea any more, as this is the most carefree time in our lives. Being a child, we need not to think too much as our parents do. Plus, we are not entangled with dealing with complicated interpersonal relationship and are not gripped with the idea of earning money. Though study may become the only strenuous task for children, it is still possible for us to make new playmates, together with whom we will share countless joyful moments. For example, when I was a child, I was used to spending a large amount of time with my friends to hang out, such as catching butterfly, climbing mountain and making barbecue. However, these memorable moments will never come back, as we are swamped by endless works and have more duty to look after elderly parents.

In conclusion, while there are certain reasons to believe that adult life brings us happiness, it seems to me that the ingenuous childhood is the most beautiful moments in our lives.