Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people's lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Happiness is a key aspect of human life. Yet, it is widely debated whether adolescents or adults are happier. In my opinion, teens are the ones, who are happier, mostly because they have fewer responsibilities.

One of the reasons why teenagers tend to be happier is that they are usually not overwhelmed with duties. That is to say, they can manage their personal time more flexibly, compared to the adults, who usually spend one-third of their day working. However, it does not mean that they do not have responsibilities at all. Teenagers, as students of secondary schools, have a number of projects to work on, assignments to submit, and many other things that create academic pressure on them. Nevertheless, many supporters of this idea believe that advantages of being a teenager outweigh its disadvantages.

On the other hand, others claim that the true happiness comes with maturity. In other words, adulthood is thought to consist of elements of happiness. As an example of them, supporters of this perspective often mention financial independence from parents and freedom of choice. Nevertheless, adulthood appears to be full of responsibilities, accompanied by workload pressure, plans about the future that request a careful consideration (career, family), and as loaded with expenses on many things, such as accommodation, food, fuel if you have a car, and other essential needs. Therefore, although adults may enjoy independence and other features of maturity, its disadvantages often prevent them from experiencing real happiness.

In conclusion, I believe that both stages of life offer variety aspects of happiness. Yet, adulthood’s independence comes with the price of constant pressure and obligations, while teenagers are free to enjoy the real freedom, with fewer burdens and more free time.