Some people think that to learn about other countries, they need to travel. Some say that it is not necessary to travel; we can have information through TV and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advances in technology help people have various ways of learning about other countries. While some people argue travelling is the best way to gain such knowledge, others believe that television and the Internet provide sufficient information. I believe that although digital media is convenient and informative, travelling still plays an indispensable role in understanding other cultures.

It is understandable why many people believe travelling still plays an essential role in gaining knowledge about other countries because it gives first-hand experiences, which cannot be offered by online platforms. Immersing oneself in another culture provides people with several opportunities to experience the local culture and communicate with local people which helps them learn a new language. Interacting with local residents helps them have a deeper understanding of the social behaviours of the local community. Moreover, they can engage in traditional festivals where travellers enjoy traditional performances, local cuisine and how indigenous people work and treat each other. Thereby, these authentic experiences help broaden their horizons, avoid stereotypes and encourage them to step out of their comfort zones. For example, exchange students understand a country’s culture much better than people who only watch documentaries, as travelling abroad allows them to gain firsthand experience of other cultures which changes their perspective on different societies, resulting in a deeper understanding of some social issues and conflicts. Despite these advantages, it is undeniable that online platforms have also changed the way people learn about foreign countries.

Thanks to the development of digital technology, we can easily access foreign cultures. While travelling requires much time and a large budget, the convenience and affordability of television and the Internet may outperform travelling in some situations. Thereby, more and more people even underprivileged ones now have access to information about foreign countries, resulting in greater mutual understanding among people which has reduced wars and conflicts caused by cultural differences. Moreover, several websites and online museums provide a wide range of information, videos and up-to-date information. For instance, YouTube is a digital platform, which has lots of virtual tours online, allowing people to gain khowlegde with a realistic experience while staying at home. However, these streaming platforms cannot fully replace real-life experiences, which offer a unique and immersive experience. Therefore, despite the growing popularity of social media, physical travel offers a more authentic understanding of foreign cultures.

In conclusion, although television and the Internet increase people’s awareness of different cultures among people and their convenience and affordability may outperform travelling in some particular situations, I believe that traditional travel still outweighs streaming platforms overall, because it provides firsthand experiences and broadens people’s perspectives, reducing prejudice that remains between different cultures and promoting mutual respect among people from different backgrounds.