Some people think that using animals for scientific research is necessary, while others believe it is unethical and should be banned. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the ever-growing population in our current day and age, it’s no surprise that we require development in medical care and research. In recent times, we have started to use animals for scientific research which has caused huge controversies amongst different parties. Using animals would provide us with essential research subjects without the risk of affecting our physical health. However, there is an equal amount of people that believe it is unethical to be treating other species in such a vile manner. One significant detail that pushes this to be necessary, is that we require it for the long-term benefits.

The most common outlook on this matter is that it will provide society with alot of knowledge in the long run. The reason is simple: with the use of animals for research, it is implied that the pool of research subjects is greater, due to the fact that there is less of a risk against human lives being harmed. This benefit however, is not entirely bulletproof. It is important to also discuss the counter-arguments that come alongside this topic.

The most common argument against animal usage in scientific research, is the ethical concerns of the animal. Most cultures believe that an animal should be viewed upon as equally as a human life, which means harming the animal will be the same as harming a regular individual. This is a strong argument against animal usage in scientific research, but this is not a plausible enough reason to completely eradicate all forms of animal usage in research. It would mean that we woud be neglecting all the benefits that come along it.

In conclusion, although both sides of the topic have very compelling arguments, I believe it is up to the perspective of different people to decide whether if it should be banned or further used. Personally, I believe that any solution that has the fewest problems should be the way forward.