Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many cities are built around a central part that goes back centuries, sometimes even milleniums. Some people think that we should replace these old buildings with more modern ones. Others believe we should keep the current buildings.

The first argument for choosing modern buildings over older ones is apearance. The last two centuries have seen good progress and buildings constructed in this time are using the latest technology and ideas to make a clear style for the modern city. Removing older buildings that clash on modern designs would be a sensitive idea.

The second argument is practicalisation. Older buildings are dangerous because they are in a bad condition. However, if we replaced them with newer buildings, it will ensure to be buildings safer. In addition, modern buildings make better use of space what is very important when construct in crowded city centre environments.

However, there are also arguments against. The economy of many older cities is relying not only on business, but also on the tourism. Tourists who are visiting cities such as Rome, Istanbul and Moscow only interested in the old buildings and other historical sites. If these buildings were destroyed and replaced with the new ones, the identity of these cities would deleted and so would their money from tourism. Also with money, constructing new buildings is very expensive and needs to be thought which people are paying for the redeveloping.

To conclude, some rebuilding of urban areas is necessary. However, we must remember that a cities history is important and that this rebuilding should always be careful.