Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that engaging in voluntary work to help people in need is of the obligation for the young generation. While this has admittedly certain benefits, I would contend that these are outstripped by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, partaking in unpaid projects can be disadvantageous to a certain extent. The key drawback is that these works consume a great amount of effort and dedication. For example, participants need to spend time fostering their understanding about regulations and also improving crucial skills in order that they can become eligible enough to give assistance to people in difficulties. Therefore, these works might not be feasible for those having hectic studying and working schedules. If the government forces young people to take part in unpaid work, they would conceivably suffer from stress and anxiety owing to lack of relaxing and rest time. Another drawback could be that illegal organizations might take advantage of young people, particularly students. This stems from the fact that some corporations over-exploit participants for the sake of their own profits instead of community benefits. Consequently, this would lead to mental and physical degradation and even well-being of these people.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in significance when compared to the drawbacks of taking part in unpaid jobs. One primary advantage lies in the opportunity to accumulate diverse experiences and essential skills on an individual level. For instance, if young people partake in voluntary work requiring direct interaction and collaboration with other people, they would feasibly sharpen their interpersonal skills. This can lead to the expansion of social circle and interpersonal skills. Furthermore, unpaid jobs help foster solidarity among residents, in terms of societal level. These voluntary programs teach people the importance of working together and sympathizing with other people, particularly difficult people like the poor and the homeless. Eventually, cooperation between residents would lead to a better quality of lives and a wealthier country.

In conclusion, despite certain negative impacts of forcing young people to take part in charity work, I am of the opinion that its benefits are far more pronounced.