Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, with the growth and expansion of our society, the youngsters gradually turn a blind eye to other fellow humans. Therefore, some individuals argue that this group of people should be required to take part in several voluntary activities, which can help people in the community. From my perspective, I firmly believe that the merits of this assertion can outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, requiring young people to do unpaid work can lead to several disadvantages in their time and financial conditions. Firstly, most young people have a great burden from the heavy workload as well as the hectic school schedule, thus they can gain a great deal of pressure if they are requested to undertake unpaid jobs. In particular, after a long day of working, most people tend to spend their spare time with family or on personal passion in lieu of doing volunteer work. Furthermore, charitable activities cannot bring enough value regarding financial benefits for the youth. The development of the national economy encourages the younger generation to put an effort into earning money, leading to the fact that they are not willing to enroll in community services which are usually without salary.

On the other hand, it is admitted that youthful residents can have more opportunities to acquire spiritual value from community activities. When youngsters get involved in volunteering, they have to become more responsible with their lives by having a chance to meet others who encounter plenty of challenging situations. These chances can foster each individual’s independence and responsibility as well as community unity and solidarity. As a result, the living conditions of each citizen can be improved, contributing to shortening the rich and poor gap. In addition, engaging in voluntary jobs helps young people broaden their social circle through associating with new friends. Having valuable relationships can be an effective form for volunteers to expand their educational pathway or future pathway.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the potential drawbacks concerning personal freedom and work attitude, I am of the opinion that young individuals should be encouraged to engage in community service, irrespective of whether it is remunerated. By participating in such activities, young people can develop essential life skills and civic values that are beneficial for their personal growth and the welfare of society at large.