Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others think young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have two polarised opinions related to the proper behaviour of the young generation. The first thought is that teenagers and adolescents should act like society wants and expects, whereas the second thought is the opposite. In my opinion, every individual has a right to be themselves and pursue their own interests.

On one hand, citizens, who are 16-25 years old are aware of their thoughts and actions, so, in most cases, they can decide what they want to do, no matter the typical stereotypes from others. In addition, this age group has a sophisticated range of emotions due to biological and mental changes. For example, today a person feels optimism and freedom in his life, and the next day a mood rapidly turns to pessimism and gloom. Furthermore, because of technological progress and absolute access to amenities, children and adolescents usually do not understand the value of their own things, such as phones, computers or clothes. As a result, most of them develop anxiety and resentment when something goes wrong.

On the other hand, we cannot underestimate the importance of youth’s psychological state. Indeed, it is difficult to consider them as children, but, at the same time, they are immature and inexperienced. If an individual spends his time with intelligent and humble people, their behaviour and characteristics will be the same. In particular, many young people in eastern countries are forced to have successful careers and happy families. However, is it really pivotal for them at such a young age when they can utilize their time to discover the world and enjoy life?

In conclusion, this topic has been debatable for a long time. Nevertheless, young people are independent in their thoughts, and there is no point in teaching them how to act properly.