Some people think the advertisement has positive economic effects, while others think it has social impacts because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether advertisements can contribute positively to the economy, or whether opponents believed they have negative social impacts, leaving people dissatisfied with themselves and their possessions. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favour of the latter.

Those who believe that advertising offers notable economic benefits may have several arguments. From their point of view, advertisements can give new products recognition and help educate first-time buyers. This means that it can introduce innovative services that have never existed before to the public, or partly guide clueless consumers who have never purchased a product before on its range and qualities. Furthermore, the advertising industry creates numerous job opportunities. It supports various sectors such as media, design, and marketing, providing employment for professionals like graphic designers, content creators, and campaign managers.

Nevertheless, I still side with those choose who believed that advertising has negative social effects, primarily by fostering materialism and consumerism. By constantly bombarding individuals with messages that link happiness and fulfillment to material possessions, advertising cultivates a culture of dissatisfaction and desire for more. Moreover, advertisements have undeniable negative effects on human’s psyche. Advertising’s core mission is to keep customers informed, however, this is a double-edged sword, as new yearnings are also created, preventing people from being satisfied with what they have and boosting consumerism culture.

In conclusion, both perspectives have their merits. Nevertheless, businesses need to be responsible for the information used in advertising to avoid unexpected negatives and protect the right of customers. However, I maintain that advertisements are more detrimental to societal well-being due to their impact on consumerism.