Some people think the government should pay for healthcare and education, but there is no agreement about whether it is the government's responsibility. What is your opinion?

There is an ongoing debate over whether governments or individuals should be responsible for bearing the cost of health care and education. While some believe that since individuals directly benefit from these facilities they should take responsibility, I side with those who argue that providing these amenities is a duty of the government.

Proponents of the former view believe that individuals should be responsible for their own well-being and learning. If people cover the cost, they are more likely to value the services. Furthermore governments have limited resources. If citizens pay, funds can be allocated to other essential areas, like infrastructure or security. People are also may be able to choose high-quality services for themselves, as they know what can meet their demands.

However, there are those who argue that providing free healthcare and educations is government’s accountability. Some people who struggle with poverty cannot afford the expensive healthcare and education and government should ensure that everyone has the same opportunities regardless of their financial backgrounds. Moreover, healthy and educated people are more likely to boost the productivity and support the economic growth by working hard. As a result, when individuals are healthy and knowledgeable it does not only benefit themselves, but also it has advantages for a whole society.

In conclusion, while individuals learn to appreciate services by being responsible to pay them, I remain convinced that its governments duty to cover the cost of these amenities as it can be helpful for those who cannot afford and it can contribute the development of economy.