Some people think the increasing use of technology in the workplace is good for young people's prospects of gaining a job and harder for old people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the escalating utilization of technological devices in the workplace would be beneficial to the young’s prospects of gaining an occupation. However, it exerts negative consequences on their older counterparts when it comes to securing employment. I completely agree with this notion for the reasons outlined below.

It is understandable why the increasing technology usage in the workplace can benefit the young who are likely to be job-holders. Young people are generally known as those who can learn and apply their knowledge about technology to address their problems effectively at their workplace, which are two facets that are usually placed heavy emphasis on by employers. Therefore, the increasing usage of technology in the workplace can facilitate them to have higher chances of gaining a job. My personal experience is that I used ChatGPT- an artificial intelligence program- to address the tasks given by my managers during the 2-month test before I was employed in my company. My managers said that they were very impressed with the way I used ChatGPT to solve their tasks effectively, and they agreed to employ me after the test. My friends and neighbors also shared the same experience when they successfully applied ChatGPT to be employed in their workplace.

Conversely, the escalating use of technology in the workplace would be a hurdle to the old. Older generations are often known as those who are familiar with their missions and jobs since they have more experience than their younger counterparts, which is synonymous with their more effective solutions to the tasks. However, with the help of several artificial intelligence programs nowadays, their knowledge may be no longer effective, or even fall into disuse since these programs can bring about more effective solutions. For instance, Steve Jobs once claimed that he had almost no chance of competing with his younger generation, as he solved his problems according to his experience, but it took him a colossal amount of money to do so. However, his younger employee asked ChatGPT to give him another solution without spending a lot of money. Then, this program gave one solution that helped Steve Jobs save millions of dollars. As such, the old may find it challenging when they face the increasing technology usage in the workplace.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the surge in technological tools in the workplace can benefit the young’s prospects of gaining a job, but their older counterparts may find it difficult.