Some people think the increasing use of technology in the workplace is good for young people's prospects of gaining a job and harder for old people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that the growing prevalence of technology in the working environment is highly beneficial for the young’s development and success while the reverse is true for the old. In this essay, I would explore the reasons behind my partial endorsement.

On the one hand, there are some major reasons that explain why the advancements in technology in the workplace bring positive impacts on young individuals. It is true that these groups are borned in the digital era, meaning that they are more technologically native and flexible to adapt to the constant changes of technology. Meanwhile, controlling management softwares is extremely complicated and fussy as they must be continuously updated and corrected. That is why, younger generations, with the flexibility and adaptability, may utilize these strengths to create new business strategies to compete with their counterpart firms, ultimately increasing the overall productivity of a company.

On the other hand, old workers possess the unique strengths to maintain and ensure stability in their firm. Since the higher performance of advanced machines may be associated with the system errors, the presence of older individuals is extremely necessary. These groups are known for their rich experiences that accumulated for many years or working, so that they make informed decisions and take effective measures to handle these machine-related problems. For instance, several mistakes caused by viruses have been effectively handled by a group of senior employees thanks to their previous competence and deep insights about these kinds of problems. As a result, older workers still play an indispensable role in overall growth in a company.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether young or old employees benefit from the increasing reliance on technology in workplace, I believe that both generations have their own superior characteristics that should not be underestimated.