Some people think the increasing use of technology in the workplace is good for young people's prospects of gaining a job and harder for old people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years, technology has emerged to become a crucial part of human’s lives, gaining importance in a diversity of aspects, from entertaining to working. In the workplace, specifically, it is believed that young people’s constant adaptation of technology may provide these individuals with better job prospects than their older counterparts. However, this may not always be the case, as shown in the below arguments.

On the one hand, young professionals can successfully adapt to the fast pace of technological development. To enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of a company’s workflow, the board of management may constantly test and adopt new technologies in the workplace. Technological advancements such as a new management software, machine learning, or artificial intelligence are intricate and require a steep learning curve and regular pratice to get familiar with. Fortunately, young people are more capable of quickly acquiring new skills and gaining new knowledge than their older colleagues, thereby being more able to “own” these technologies by merely applying them in their work constantly. This regular use of technological advancements in the workspace may secure young professionals’ opportunities of gaining a job and moving up the corporate ladder.

On the other hand, a number of technologies are designed to facilitate old people’s ways of conducting their jobs. To foster the equality among co-workers, companies may adopt technologies that help old individuals maintain competitive advantages compared to their younger counterparts. Advancements like a virtual assistant can guide aged employees through newly implemented working processes, while automation can complete repetitive tasks for them. Hence, old professionals can leverage these kinds of technology to help them focus only on other important tasks that highly demand their skills and experience, which younger colleagues may lack. In other words, old people can maintain their prospects of gaining a job if they apply technology wisely.

In conclusion, the increasing implementation of technology in the workplace is generally good for young people to secure a job, thanks to these individuals’ capability of rapidly adapting to the constant change of the technological world. Nevertheless, older employees may also maintain their competitive advantages by leveraging technology to facilitate the ways they complete their tasks.