Some people think the world will eventually have only one language. Do you think the advantages of having one global language outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, speaking one common language all over the world is a trending idea which is supported by more and more people. Although using only one language can enhance communication and economic growth, the disadvantages, such as cultural loss and job displacement, outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, language barriers can be diminished and consequently lead to easier comprehension in an interconnected economy or other areas such as tourism and education by establishing an interconnected global communication method. The main problem of confusion between these parts happens because of a lack of linguistic competency. Therefore, speaking on universal language like English can support the decline in communication issues. As a result, the effectiveness of economic interaction would raise and affect professional developments beneficially.

On the other hand, one major drawback of using a single global language is the potential erosion of cultural diversity, as many communities rely on their native language to preserve their traditions and express their unique identities. If a dominant language replaces regional languages, younger generations may lose interest in learning their mother tongues, leading to the gradual disappearance of cultural heritage. Another problem is that it can make to mountain up the number of unemployment rate. For instance, when the whole world uses the same language in all activities, hundreds of millions of people who work as interpreters, translating applications developers and other language teachers would be unemployed.

In conclusion, while globalized economy benefits by utilizing the unified language, it can also lead to the loss of culture and job security of locals.