Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; Others think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

There is no room for doubt that in this contemporary society, education plays an important role in shaping most of our spheres of life. Indeed, one topic that, to an extent, has raised worldwide controversy is whether or not universities should provide career-related skills rather than basic knowledge to students. It seems to me that pupils should receive practical abilities instead of hard capabilities.

First of all, after graduation, learners have to meet the job market needs. Obviously, the competitiveness of business is extremely cruel, which leads to the process of dismissing employees when they cannot adapt to the changing demands of purchasers. Recognizing the importance of this fact, schools must prioritize teaching youngsters with real expertise for work application instead of focusing on knowledge on books. For instance, my college regularly has has many tours in the hospitality industry to help graduates better see the operating and working style of each position. This is clearly changes up more helpful benefits than simply sitting to learn boring lessons. As a result, scholars can either upgrade their potential through actual exercises or enhance their own competitive values when applying for a job.

Another thing to be recommended is that work-associated skills can help juveniles think innovatively and creatively. Absolutely, directors always ask their employees to have breakthrough for the company programs because of the speedy evolution of the digital technology age, which means academies must share with undergraduates how to work imaginatively and motivate them to participate in planning development competitions. This was true for my final street building exam. In this project, we had a chance to team up with the ward People’s Committee to propose ideas for setting up a night food market on Dien Bien Phu street. Thanks to the contest, my classmates learned not only to perform an inventive strategy but also the spirit of teamwork. Consequently, inspired lessons will help adolescents become qualified workers together with make contributions to social progress.

In conclusion, although universities and colleges are generally believed to be academic environment and to offer theoretical knowledge, workable skills should be considered thoroughly to be added to school curriculum of those institutes.