Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; Others think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

Improving students’ knowledge has been the most important function of a university degree, which gives them ground for their professional development. While some people believe that workspace skills should be acquired during the graduation process, others trust that graduates can only focus on the theoretical aspects of the courses. In my opinion, universities’ main utility must be teaching the theory otherwise students will be considered unprepared for their professional life.

Firstly, individuals that have enrolled on an academic course will normally finish them within four years, which can be highly demanding even for those who do not work. For example, when companies are selecting new employees who applied for a position, tests are required to demonstrate what they had learned at the university level. Therefore, spending precious time developing professional skills during graduation is less significant than focusing on the theory of the courses.

On the other hand, colleges and academies are the places of knowledge delivery, which should deliver academics regardless of their benefits to the job market. Furthermore the universities should function as knowledge centres, where students can get facilities for aspiring all branches of knowledge.

In conclusion, the university is the greatest place to access enough knowledge of specific careers.

Many people argue that students should acquire workplace skills during their courses, however, doing so good actually make them unprepared for the future.