Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; Others think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

There is no room for doubt that in this contemporary society, education plays an important role in shaping most of our spheres of life. Indeed, one topic that, to an extent, has raised worldwide controversy is whether or not universities should provide career-related skills rather than basic knowledge to students. It seems to me that pupils should be received practical abilities instead of hard capabilities.

First of all, after graduation, learners have to meet the job market needs. Obviously, the competitiveness of business is extremely cruel, which goes to the process of dismissing employees in case they can not adapt to the changing demands of purchasers. Recognizing the importance of this fact, schools must have a priority on teaching youngsters with real expertise for work application instead of focusing knowledge on books. For instance, my college regularly has many tours in the hospitality industry to help graduates better catch on to the operating and working style of each position. This clearly changes up more helpful benefits than simply sitting to learn boring lessons. As a result, scholars can either upgrade their facilities by actual exercises or enhance their own competitive values when applying for a job.

Another thing to be recommended is that work-associated skills can help juveniles think innovatively and creatively. Absolutely, because of the speedy evolution of the digital technology age, directors always ask their employees to have a breakthrough for the company programs. That means academies must share with undergraduates how to work imaginatively and motivate them to participate in planning development competitions. This was totally true for my final street building exam. In this project, we had a chance to team up with the ward People’s Committee to think of ideas for setting up a night food market on Dien Bien Phu street. Thanks to the contest, my classmates learned not only a way to perform an inventive strategy but also the spirit of teamwork. In consequence, inspired lessons will help adolescents become qualified workers as well as make contributions to social progress.

In conclusion, although universities and colledges are generally believed to be academic environment and to offerred theoritical knowledge, workable skills should be considered thoroughly to be added in school cirricumlumn of those institutes.