Some people think university degree is the best way secure good job. However, other believe skills and experience are more important.

The debate of whether a university degree can ensure a decent career path over learning required skills and directly assuming a job carries two perspectives.

Learning the key skills and expertise that are significant in the industry after high school implies notable abilities in performing well in hands-on tasks as well as equipping individuals with high problem-solving skills related to daily issues. Moreover, it provides certain life experiences that could not be taught in the curriculum, which are linked to soft skills such as managing a group of people. Starting to receive knowledge in a specific field is also beneficial, in which oriented material can be learned without the necessity of going through several pieces of irrelevant curriculum, unlike going to college.

Although enrolling in a university and going through its process relatively consumes a long time causing a delay in actively pursuing a career after high school, it is associated with positive impacts like obtaining knowledge in specific fields that are challenging to acquire by experience alone. Furthermore, it offers mentoring from highly knowledgeable people having vast experience in these areas. These experts are devoted to training and teaching freshers the fundamental skills to suit various positions, unlike the industry where it is mainly no one’s responsibility to provide the basics. Additionally, in this era of interdisciplinary fields, there are highly demanding and skilled jobs requiring sophisticated abilities and problem-solving skills. These vacancies can only be filled by people with higher education and who are cautiously monitored by supervisors possessing expertise in these majors.

My personal career, in an interdisciplinary field, provided me with insight into how complicated it is to gain multiple skills in different areas without having a robust academic background serving as a stepping stone to improvements in various aspects simultaneously.

In conclusion, I favor the idea of obtaining a degree for those who would pursue careers that rely on several disciplines, whereas people intending to pursue jobs with less demanding skills may enter the workforce at earlier ages.