Some people think university education should be free for everyone, while others believe students should pay.

Higher education plays a crucial role in polishing individuals’ careers and contributes to national development. Some people argue that university education should be free for everyone, whereas others are of the opinion that students should pay to earn a degree. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my opinion.

On the one hand, people believe that the government should make university education fully-funded. It will create equal opportunities for everyone. Some students from low socioeconomic backgrounds remain deprived of university education due to high fees. Free education will not benefit them only personally, but it will also contribute to society. A more educated population can increase productivity, which in turn improves the country’s economic status.

On the other hand, some people oppose the idea of free education as it will put an unnecessary burden on the government. Whereas the budget allocated for education can be utilised in other important sectors like healthcare, early education, and infrastructure. Moreover, if students pay their university dues, they will take their studies more seriously.

I believe both ideas are correct in their own place. So, the government should support the deserving students by giving them merit and need-based scholarships, whereas individuals who can pay should pay their fees. Hence, the allocated budget is effectively utilised in creating equal opportunities for everyone.

In conclusion, university education should not be completely free, but the government should support those who are interested in pursuing a professional degree but cannot due to financial constraints. A combined approach can lead to an effective system without overburdening the governement.