Some people think university education should be free for everyone, while others believe students should pay.

Some hold the view that higher education should be free to everyone, whereas others reckon that not every profession requires academic skills, and students should pay for colleges if they wish to continue their studies. Although making higher learning accessible to everyone worldwide has some positive regards, I completely support the latter sentiment, for if not done so, it may pose disastrous effects such as economic crisis and less public services.

Admittedly, making colleges and universities free of charge to everyone would turn the world into a better place for several reasons. First and foremost, there are people who are eager to learn but cannot simply afford to pay for their colleges. With education being cheap or without any cost at all, it let individuals with financial problems have a better academic background and skills which, in turn, allows them to provide for their families. Furthermore, if it was for individuals to attend in classes specialized in their fields for free, there would be a huge number of people with several different professional and academic skills. By being professional in more than one job, people in certain fields do not have to call and wait for someone to come and solve their problems. For instance, if a technical problem appears at a hospital, a doctor who with the needed skills can fix it in no time.

On the other side, getting people to pay for their universities permits any society to save itself because of the two main reasons. Firstly, college funds help government to allocate funds for public services and make them free for its residents. Unless student pay their own tuition, some underdeveloped nations may not be able to have the proper services such as healthcare and education. In addition, the existence of jobs without special academic skills means that professional competence also plays a fundamental role in many people’s lives. Making colleges free ensures that everyone might want to pursue for high paid professions that leads to the displacement of jobs which can be mastered solely through practice, like chefs, painters, and blacksmiths.

In conclusion, while some argue that higher learning should be free of charge, there are those who stand against this viewpoint. Even though the former idea has rather more advantages, I firmly stick to the letter, as I believe that the economic setbacks and job displacements would do much more harm than good to our societies.