Some people think using mobile phones in public places should be banned.

In the contemporary era, when cellphones are ubiquitous, some individuals say that smartphones ought to be banned in public places, such as libraries, shops and on public transport. While I admit that banning mobile devices in libraries is a wise decision, I also believe that they can be useful in other places that were mentioned before.

Gadgets are often not allowed in libraries due to clear and understandable reasons. One of those is disturbance that mobile phones can potentially create not only to a person who uses a phone, but also to other patrons visiting the same library. The main purpose of all libraries is to provide a tranquil atmosphere to all visitors. Cellphones are a taboo in such places, since they feature phone calls and messaging apps that make loud sounds defeating the main purpose of these places. Some people might say that notifications could be switched off to avoid disturbance, but they, as a rule, forget that some apps do not have such an option. Even if they do, the problem of phone calls still exists. The main issue has less to do with a ringtone than with phone conversations itself. A person who speaks on a phone might speak quietly, but it may be still enough for someone to lose his or her focus.

However, there are some situations where mobile devices could do more good than harm. When one goes to do some shopping, for example, the one might forget a list of products that he or she should buy. In this situation, the one could call to his or her family members to ask them to send the list through a messaging app, such as Telegram or What’s Up, instead of returning to home in order to retrieve it. This saves a lot of time and nerves. In terms of public transport, smartphone is also handy, since an individual with the device may track busses using special programme. Doing so will reduce the likelihood of missing a bus that can, in turn, be a reason why the individual comes late to the work. Without it, it is highly likely that a person will often be late for work, making a bad impression on a boss or even being redundant from a job.

In conclusion, I maintain there are many factors to be considered before banning mobile devices in public places. In this essay, I tried to explain some of the positive and negative outcomes of this idea.