Some people today argue that media has become increasingly nostalgic and unoriginal. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The modern media is cited as using repetitive content and lacking originality. While there is some reliance on past ideas, I do not fully agree that this phenomenon leads to a deficiency in content uniqueness.

It is true that some press these days is constantly posting about the past. For example, when they do not update the latest events, nostalgic ones are usually recalled as a safe option. This often leads to the outdated pieces of information that hardly meet the audiences’ demand. Other than that, some cinematic adaptations tried to remake old scripts but failed to deliver the core values. Disney’s live-action Pinocchio, criticized for only replicating the old animation with visual effects instead of delivering the moral values of honesty, was a typical case of this situation. Indeed, certain parts from the communication sector are lacking creativity.

However, some other media productions are noticeably up to date. Specifically, British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) News are notifying their audiences with the important and latest news about the world. Their reports are cited to be accurate, objective and reliable by viewers. Moreover, in entertainment field, Guillermo del Toro’s version of the living puppet was cited by critics as being much more insightful than Disney’s. While using many methods of filmmaking from the past, like stop-motion figures or reviving old scripts, the modern lens towards traditional moral values of being truthful still made the movie stand out. Therefore, It can be seen that some of the industry’s components are aware of recent issues, and can even innovate the nostalgic values.

In conclusion, the media items that are past-driven and lack inventiveness clearly exist. However, the other counterparts do offer their viewers with the most recent updates and some can even renew the past productions.