Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the best people to communicate with the young generation about the threats of committing a crime are those who have been incarcerated but become good people later. However, in this essay, I will challenge this school of thought.

Granted, it is understandable that there are some benefits of letting ex-prisoners talk to the youngsters about crimes. First, rehabilitated wrongdoers have experience about life in jail, how it was. From there, they can share those to the young people, the minors tend to hear the advice more carefully when it comes from experienced people. This is understandable because ex-offenders are the real examples that have to pay for their crimes, which can raise awareness among teenagers to not engage in criminal activities.

However, there are several different better educated methods than letting a delinquents teach teenagers about committing a crime. Firstly, family education plays an important role in raising the awareness of youngsters. For instance, most children live with their parents until adulthood, so parents are pioneers that teach their children about unlawful activities, which avoids them from committing crimes. Secondly, school is also a good place to disseminate knowledge to students about the risks of participating in crimes. For example, schools put into operation lessons about different types of crimes in interesting ways. This means that children can learn about unlawful activities through videos, hypothetical situations like how to deal with criminals.

In conclusion, letting those who are released from prison hold a talk to young people is an effective way to teach them about crimes but I believe that there are better methods such as family and school education.