What are the advantages and disadvantages of working from home, and how can it affect employees' productivity and well-being?

An increasing numver of individuals think that working remotely is beneficial for both employees and employers, while others believe that it it less productive. While this trend confers certain merits, it is not without demerits that shouln’t be overlooked.

Of the benefits of this trend, convinience stands out as being a fundamental one. Often most workers, especially those who have children, don’t have enough time for them because they spend most of their day in offices and they are not available. Also, some parents don’t have a right person beside their children to watch after them. Working from home offers benefits for parents, as it allows them to stay at home and have the ability to watch after their kids. This also benefits employers in a certain way. Most of employees tend to come back home late and feel exhausted, so the next morning their productivity worsens, which affects the working process and businesses’ success. However, working remotely allows individuals to have more free time and flexible schedule where they have more leisure hours, so they feel less tired and more productive. To illustrate, in most countries average hours are from 8:00AM to approximately 17:00PM, and people come to their houses extremely tired and still have chores to do, whereas online kind of work could reduce a couple hours from this schedule and they could invest their free time on doing household chores.

As for the drawbacks, lack of responsibility is the most commonly cited one. When workers get used to remote type of job, they become less accountable for their work responsibilities. Instead of this, they would decide to spend their working time on other less vital things. At the same time, these decisions would affect businesses’ reputation and harm employer’s career as he’s hired an incompetent person and the company can’t rely on him anymore. One more demerit is that, people don’t get to experience the sence of a community. Working from their personal apartments limits their interactions with people, and even can affect the relationships between other employees. A pertinent case in this point could be that most of them don’t even get to know each other well because of the online style of their employment.

While online style of working offers such desirable aspects as convinient schedule and greater amount of time for resting, which also benefit employers by having more productive employees, its undesirable aspects are not only a lack of responsibility but also a lack of interactions with others.