Some say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions for tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is a prevalent contentious issue surrounding money making from presenting cultural traditions to tourists. While some advocate these traditions may be destroyed if used for monetary benefits, others propose that it is the sole measure for ensuring the existence of these cultures in our society. This essay is dedicated to exploring the latter stance and justifying my support for it.

On one side of the spectrum, proponents argue for the inherent elements of tradition. This viewpoint is often driven by the change in art and art forms being noticed recently after it is being used for tourists aiming for money. The compromise to integrity and originality is quite noticeable. Additionally, if not presented in its original form, this may misrepresent the cultural traditions in a country. As an example, a tourist was brought to an Ayurvedic Spa in my neighbourhood and they were infected with rashes on their body from the use of improper combination of herbal medicines.

Contrary to the aforementioned viewpoint, I firmly contend that promoting cultural traditions would help to sustain it among us. One rationale behind this assertion is that it provides employment opportunities to the artists. Moreover, cultural traditions being followed in a country can be spread to the entire world. For instance, the food items of the entire world are available everywhere as the same was introduced and influenced by the tourists to take these to their own countries.

Summing up, I reiterate my opinion that cultural traditions exist as the backbone of a country’s structure and it could be promoted as a tourist attraction. However, it is recommended to ensure the originality of it through strict monitoring as it underscores the manifold benefits it confers upon the cultural system.