Some say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions for tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While is is true that historical and cultural traditions are being seen as an idustry and governments are making money from them, it is hard to determine whether this attitude has a potential negative consequence for them or not. As far as I am concerned, this point of view can be helpful for people with that traditions, but they should not forget their main goals, which are hiden in those traditions.

On the one hand, there are a plenty of repercussions coming along with the belief of using cultural traditions to improve the economies of local people. Concider a traditional dance that is being performed every year in a rural area of india. Needless to say, a reasonable amount of these cultural traditions have a meaningful purpose behind them, and the people who are doing them are keeping both the interior soul and the exterior costumes alive. However, if the performancers of that dance solely think about the money, the purpose of the traditional dance will fade away gradually. This mindset can harm exterior costumes as well. For instance, the traditional dancers will only perfom the exciting parts of the dance not the whole dance, in order to attract more tourists.

On the other hand, making money from cultural traditions can have noticeable benefits as well. If the dancers, which mentioned earlier, are tight in their budgets, they might not afford buying new clothes for the traditional dance; so they cannot perform the dance flawlessly. Moreover, if they make money from their shows, they can even invite more local people to their dance and their group will be bigger. Finally, one important issue in these types of rural areas is that younger generations leave their local place in order to make money in the urban places. However, if they can make money in their local place, then there will be no reason for such immigrations.

In conclusion, I believe that making money from a traditionl culture does not necessarily come along with negative consequences. However, the ethnics ought to be aware of their ancestors’ goal, which was keeping alive the soul of that tradition.