Some say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions for tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe the cultural traditions are damaged and ultimately vanish if tourists are considered as money-making attraction. While, others have completely opposite view. I strongly believe earning from visitors by providing them the attractive places seems to be a great initiative but this can create a ruin image of the place if not handled properly.

The individuals who support this idea generally think about its short term advantages like in most Northern Areas of Pakistan this is the best way to improve the financial problems. It is the best opportunity to express some traditional foods, dances, places and rituals to get an exposure globally. For instance, a number of YouTube vloggers visit Pakistan and other Asian countries to visualize the natural scenery and give shoutouts to various small businesses and areas of a particular country.

On the other hand, if financial means are the priority then it can create adverse effects. It has been seen that most of the locals try to cheat foreigners by selling their services at higher prices. For example, two years ago an Australian YouTuber Luke Darmant faced same situation in Karachi beach where he filmed a horse riding gang who try to blackmail outsiders by charging 5-10 times more than the decided price before the ride. This made a clear observation internationally that you have to be aware of such mafia while visiting the place.

In my opinion, the most vital thing is to make money from people who are in your locality by giving them the entertainment and services they are looking for and don’t try to be over smart. Since, its age of technology and every mistake will make a global headline.