Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

In many parts of the world, school students travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Although spending a year working or travelling may bring several advantages, including independent lifestyle and financial stability, I believe its disadvantages, such as academic gap and loss of motivation to study, outweigh benefits.

One significant advantage of delaying university enrollment is that independent lifestyle since today’s face-paced life many people want to achieve it. As a result, it affects our responsibility, including decisions, actions and even financial issues. Over time, the increase in a sense of responsibility has a positive impact on time management skills, as a person begins to better understand the importance of completing tasks and obligations on time. Moreover, when the school learner is postponing higher education for work or travel it is clearly noticeable in their financial situation. Because, studies have shown that should a school graduate work before university, he or she is more likely to save money for higher education.

Notwithstanding such benefits, serious drawbacks are hard to ignore. Young people are usually interested in salaries and academic gap. Thereafter, their educational skills decline and their return to university is slowing down. Emma Watson as a case in point, because after finishing ”Harry Potter”, she took an academic gap year and started her studies late. And this situation had a negative impact on their study.

Another drawback is students who lose motivation for learning due to work or travel. In today’s globalizing world, getting used to earning money has become one of the easiest tasks to do. Consequently, learners feel like they won’t be able to return to university.

In summary, while deferring admission to university brings clear benefits, its downsides such as educational hiatus and loss of academic focus cannot be ignored. For these reasons, I am convinced that the advantages of a break from higher education clearly outweigh its benefits.